Exchange Revenue Report

Last updated on May 3, 2018

The Exchange Revenue Report lets you see data on revenue from the OpenX Ad Exchange. If you are using Private Marketplaces, this includes revenue from Private MarketplaceThe packaging, offering, and selling of high quality inventory to a limited set of buyers. Abbreviated as PMP. deals.

You can configure an Exchange Revenue Report to show as many or as few columns as needed.

If you are a network user, if you want to see exchange revenue per publisherAn account type that represents a business with ad space to sell., add the Publisher Name or Publisher ID attribute to the report. Network revenue can also be broken out by sales channel by adding the Sales Channel attribute to the report.

If you are using Private Marketplaces, you can also select Deal fields to break out your report.

To run an Exchange Revenue Report, navigate to Reports > My Reports > Create Report > Revenue Report.

Listed below are definitions for the metrics you can include.

Note: When the date range is set to Today or Yesterday, the Exchange Revenue Report uses near real-time data, and numbers may not match those of preconfigured reports.

Attributes

You can select one or more of the following attributes to appear as columns within your report. You must select at least one attribute.

Inventory

Attribute Description
Publisher Name

Name of the publisher account.

Publisher ID

OpenX ID for the publisher.

SiteAn OpenX component that represents top-level domains or subdomains and is used to organize ad units. Sites enable you to target and report on inventory performance. Name

Name of the site.

Site ID

OpenX ID for the site.

Ad Unit

Name of the ad unitThe smallest inventory component that represents the space on a site where ads display..

Ad Unit ID

OpenX ID for the ad unit.

Ad Unit Size

Size of the ad unit.

Delivery MediumThe manner in which an end-user is exposed to ad inventory, such as web or mobile.

Type of inventoryAd space available on a website or app. The basic unit of inventory for OpenX is an ad unit. or the manner in which a user is exposed to it (for example: web, mobile, email, linear videoAn ad or ad unit that displays in sequence with video content in a video player. Sequencing may be pre-roll, mid-roll, or post-roll. Can be accompanied by a companion ad. An example is a video ad that plays before a video starts, though static images may also serve., or non-linear videoAn ad or ad unit that displays on top of video content in a video player. Can be accompanied by a companion ad. An example is a banner that displays at the bottom of the video player while video content plays.).

Presentation Format

Subcategory of linear video.

Possible values include:

Presentation Subformat

Subcategory of Presentation Format.

For In-stream inventory, the following are possible values include:

For Out-stream inventory, the following are possible values include:

  • In-board
  • In-read

Demand

Attribute Description
Demand PartnerA company which purchases ad inventory on OpenX Ad Exchange.

Name of the entity or DSPDemand-side platform, a platform or provider that allows advertisers to manage multiple ad exchange and data exchange accounts through one interface, often in real time. that submits bids in the OpenX Ad Exchange.

Sales Channel

Channel through which the buyerA company that pays a demand partner to purchase ad inventory on OpenX Ad Exchange. purchased the inventory.

Possible options are:

  • Direct - Guaranteed
  • Direct - Non-guaranteed
  • Direct - House
  • Real-time Buying
  • Unsold

Deals

Attribute Description
Deal Name

Name of the deal.

Deal ID

External ID for a deal which is assigned by the user.

Deal Type

Type of package offering selected when creating a deal.

Deal PriorityIndicates which deal or line item should take precedence in the case that multiple deals or line items are eligible to serve for a given ad request.

Number between one and ten that indicates which deal takes precedence when multiple deals are eligible to serve for an ad requestCommunication from a web browser or app to an ad server to display an ad..

Deal Source

Party that sources the deal.

Package Name

Name of the package.

Package ID

OpenX ID of the package.

Account Executive

Name of the Account Executive if questions exist about the deal.

Account Manager

Name of the Account Manager if questions exist about the deal.

User

Attribute Description
Country

Country of the end-user viewing the inventory.

Device Category

Type of electronic device on which the impressionA single display of an ad on a web page, mobile app, or other delivery medium. For deals, impression is a metric to relay the total number of ads that have served. See also billable impression, forecasted impressions. is being displayed.

Possible values are:

  • connected device
  • connected tv
  • desktop
  • mobile/tablet
  • phone
  • set-top-box
  • tablet
  • text

Note: "Phone" refers to a smartphone. "Text" refers to any other feature phone or an unknown device.

Targeting

Attribute Description
Custom TargetingA targeting dimension that describes custom key-value pairs that a publisher defines based on what they know about their visitors.

Targeting dimension that describes custom key-value pairs that a publisher defines based on what they know about their visitors.

Geo Targeting

Targeting dimension that describes a viewer’s physical location, such as their city or state.

Techno Targeting

Targeting dimension that describes the technologies a user employs in their computing environment, such as their computer’s operating system. Also referred to as "technology and devices targeting."

ViewabilityOpenX uses the Media Ratings Council (MRC) definition unless otherwise noted. According to the MRC, display ads are considered viewable if 50% of their pixels are in view for a minimum of one second, two seconds for video. This applies to both desktop and mobile environments. However, in some situations, you may be able to set your own definition. Targeting

Targeting dimension that describes the average viewability score of an ad unit.

Time

Attribute Description
Month

Data summarized by month.

Week

Data summarized by week.

Date

Data summarized by date.

Hour

Data summarized by hour.

Currency

Attribute Description
Publisher Currency

Currency of the publisher's revenue. In a network where multiple currencies are supported, this allows you to see the currency of the revenue for different publishers.

External Identifiers

Attribute Description
External Site ID

Free-form publisher reference identifier for a site.

External Ad Unit ID

Free-form publisher reference identifier for an ad unit.

External Demand Partner ID

Free-form publisher reference identifier for a demand partner.

Metrics

You can select one or more of the following metrics to appear as columns within your report. You must select at least one metric.

Performance

Metric Description
Paid Impressions

Total number of impressions delivered, excluding public service announcement (PSA), house, and companion ads.

Revenue Ad Exchange revenue, net of OpenX Ad Exchange fee.
CPMCost per mille, a pricing method which calculates cost based on the number of impressions (per 1000).

Revenue per thousand impressions.

Gross Revenue

(Programmatic Direct only)

Gross PMPPrivate marketplace, the packaging, offering, and selling of high quality inventory to a limited set of buyers. revenue before OpenX PMP fees are deducted.

Gross CPM

(Programmatic Direct only)

Gross PMP revenue per thousand impressions.

CTRClick-through rate, the percentage of impressions that results in a click through. For example if a banner was clicked on 87 times after being shown 1000 times, it would have a CTR or click-through rate of .087 or 8.7% (87/1000 = 0.087×100 = 8.7).%

Clicks divided by impressions represented as a percentage.

Sell-through

Metric Description
Ad Requests Total number of ad requests.
Fill Rate Paid impressions / ad requests.

External Data

Metric Description
Viewability % The viewability rate of the selected inventory. Viewability is calculated based on a sampling of your data.

This topic applies to Ad Exchange. This topic applies to Programmatic Direct. This topic applies to SSP. Most SSP activities are completed by OpenX.