Link Search Menu Expand Document

PDF

Sites

Publishers


To manage your inventory, you must set up sites that represent the locations where you want ads to serve. Each site is a container for your ad space (or ad units), and belongs to a single account, which must have the appropriate inventory ownership capabilities, based on the account type.

The attributes you set for a site provide default settings that are applied to the site’s ad units.


on this page

NOTE

Some features mentioned here may not be available in your region or based on your user role. For more information, please visit the O​penX Community​.


Creating Sites

You need to create a site for each top-level domain and sub-domain on your app or website where you want to set up inventory. You can clone an existing site and all of its ad units and edit them to make any desired changes. Once you have created a site, you can create all of the ad units you need for that site.

NOTE

The settings that you see on your screen may vary depending on your OpenX configuration, account type, and user access.

To create a new site:

  1. In the OpenX UI, go to Inventory > Sites.

  2. On the Sites List, click Create New Site.

  3. In the Create New Site screen, complete the following:

    In this fieldDo this
    NameEnter a unique, descriptive name for the site.
    Distribution ChannelSelect the way ads will be distributed for the site. OpenX uses this information to determine the distribution channel for Ad units under the Site.


    Note: Make sure to select the correct option for the way the ads will be distributed. For example, if you are creating a mobile-optimized website that will be browsed on mobile phones or tablets, do not select Application but instead select Web since a mobile web browser will host your ads, not a mobile application.

       • Web: Ads hosted by a web/mobile browser or a mobile browser on CTV devices.

       • Application: Ads hosted by an application, such as an iOS/Android application, or an application hosted by a CTV device, etc.
  4. To complete the site setup, click one of the following:

    • Save: A confirmation message for the new site appears.
    • Save and Add New Site: A confirmation message for the new site appears and you are redirected to a Create New Site screen to begin creating another site for the same publisher.

    Your site is now created and appears in the Sites List.

    You can create ad units for this site at a later time by clicking the Add Ad Unit button on the site’s row:

    Or by clicking the Add Ad Unit button on top of the Site Details screen:

    NOTE

    For more on how to create ad units, see Creating Ad Units.


Editing Sites

Once a site is created, you can change its Name. In addition, you can change the site status for one or multiple sites at once.

To edit a site:

  1. On the row of the site you want to edit, open the Actions list , and then select Edit.

    The Edit Site screen appears.

  2. Change any of the editable settings for the site, as needed.

  3. Click Save. A confirmation message appears. The site is now updated and you are redirected to the Sites List.


Changing Site Status

Once a site is created, its status is set to Active by default. You can always set the site status to Inactive, if needed. You can change the status of one or multiple sites at once.

To change a site status:

  1. Open the Sites List screen.

  2. Do one of the following:

    To change the status ofDo this
    An individual siteOpen the Actions list for the site you want to change its status, and then select Activate or Deactivate, based on its current status.



    Note: You can also change a site status on the Site Details screen.
    Multiple sitesCheck the boxes of the sites you want to set the same status for, and then click the Activate or Deactivate button located on top of the screen.

  3. A confirmation dialog appears, click Activate or Deactivate, based on the site(s) current status.

    The site status is now updated.


Viewing Sites

The Site Details screen allows you to view general details for the sites, from which you can also view and manage ad units for the selected site.

To view a site details:

  1. In the Sites List screen, do one of the following:

    • Click on the name of the site you want to view.
    • Open the Actions list for the site you want to view, and then select Details.
  2. The Site Details screen appears, where you can view the following sections:

    SectionDescription
    IDsDisplays the site ID and external publisher ID, if any.
    Site DetailsDisplays the site status, distribution channel, Publisher name, external supply partner, and external bundle IDs, if any.
    Site HierarchyDisplays the publisher name, site name, and the list of ad units for the site, if any. The Show Ad Units button, allows you to access the Ad Units List screen.
  3. (Optional) You can also view the history of changes made to the Site by clicking its History tab.

    site details > history


Exporting Sites

The export site feature allows you to export selected sites including all of their ad units to a .csv file.

To export a site:

  1. Open the Sites List screen.

  2. Do one of the following:

    To exportDo this
    An individual siteOpen the Actions list for the site you want to export, and then select Export Site.

    Multiple sitesCheck the boxes of the sites you want to export, and then click the Export Sites button located on top of the screen.

  3. A confirmation dialog appears, click Export.

    A .csv file including the sites and their ad units is exported.

    export sites file example


Cloning Sites

The cloning site feature allows you to easily copy a site to create a new site. In addition, you have the option to clone all or none of the site’s ad units.

To clone a site:

  1. Based on the site screen, do one of the following:

    • From Sites List screen, open the Actions list for the site you want to clone, and then select Clone Site.

    • From the Site Details screen, click on the Clone Site button located on top.

  2. A confirmation dialog appears. Click Clone.

    NOTE

    If you do not need to clone all of the site’s ad units, uncheck the Ad Units of the original site checkbox which is selected by default.

    The cloned site appears in the Sites List.


Deleting Sites

You can delete the sites where you no longer have inventory to sell. Before deleting a site, consider the following:

  • All business objects that belong to the site are also deleted, if you delete a site.
  • Any ad calls for a deleted site are considered invalid.
  • You will no longer have access to view or manage the deleted site.

You can delete an individual site, or you can delete multiple sites at once.

To delete sites:

  1. Open the Sites List screen.

  2. Do one of the following:

    To deleteDo this
    An individual siteOpen the Actions list for the site you want to delete, and then select Delete.

    Multiple sitesCheck the boxes of the sites you want to delete, and then click the Delete button located on top of the screen.

  3. A confirmation dialog appears, click Delete.

    The site is now deleted and removed from the Sites List.